Rankings / Shopmonkey
Shopmonkey for Mobile Oil Change: Repair Shop Software on a Lube Run
Shopmonkey gives a mobile oil change tech more than the quick lube systems do: a native app on both stores and unlimited two-way texting on its $239 Basic plan. It is still built for a repair shop, so it names no routing, documents no offline mode, sells online booking as the $349 CRM Essentials add-on with no service area rule, and counts stock per shop from the $399 Clever plan.
Out of 100, number 3 of 6. Mobile Service Sync: 100.0.
Best for: A repair shop that does its oil changes in its own bays and wants texting from the first plan.
Where Shopmonkey Earns Its Price
Shopmonkey for Techs runs on iPhone and Android from the Basic plan, and Basic includes unlimited two-way SMS. Of the four systems on this list built for a building, it is the only one with both in its first tier.
A VIN decodes on Basic, and plate lookup runs through CARFAX; typing a plate straight into search is a Genius feature. Fleet accounts carry payment terms and their own fees and rates.
Where the Lube Run Gets Hard
Shopmonkey's mobile mechanic page names no routing, so the order of a day's oil changes is settled outside the software. Its help center recommends a 25 Mbps connection and documents no offline mode, which asks a lot of an apartment garage.
Online booking comes in CRM Essentials at $349 a month ($314 billed annually) on top of the plan. It caps bookings per day and per slot, and no rule holds a customer to your service area.
Stock is counted per shop, with transfers, starting on Clever at $399, and nothing is counted per van. Review requests come with Genius at $499 or a $99 add-on, there is a one-time $500 data migration fee, and the term is set by agreement after a demo, with no trial stated.
The Ten Criteria, One at a Time
Shopmonkey as its own pages describe it on November 7, 2026, with the page behind each cell.
- Vehicle records with plate or VIN lookupIncludedVIN decode on Basic, plate lookup through CARFAX (source)
- Route optimizationNot statedMobile mechanic page names no routing (source)
- Technician app on iPhone and AndroidIncludedShopmonkey for Techs on iOS and Android, on Basic (source)
- Works with no signalNot statedOnly speed recommendations, no offline mode documented (source)
- Online booking that respects your area and capacityAdd-onCRM Essentials add-on, $349 a month, per day and per slot caps, no service area (source)
- Fleet accountsIncludedFleet accounts with payment terms and their own fees and rates (source)
- Two-way textingIncludedUnlimited two-way SMS on Basic (source)
- Automatic review requestsHigher planReviews Manager on Genius, $499 a month, or a $99 add-on (source)
- Stock counted per vanPartialPer shop only, from Clever at $399 a month (source)
- Published price, month to month, free trialNot metPrice published, term set by agreement, demo and no stated trial (source)
Shopmonkey Plans, as Published
- Basic: $239/mo, 3 users ($215/mo billed annually)
- Clever: $399/mo, 4 users ($359/mo billed annually)
- Genius: $499/mo, 5 users ($449/mo billed annually)
- Extra users $20/mo; one-time $500 data migration fee
- CRM Essentials (online booking, reviews, campaigns): $349/mo ($314 billed annually)
What a Lube Van Gets Instead
Mobile Service Sync is built for the run between driveways: each tech's stops ordered on drive times in one click, booking on every plan held to your area and working vans, stock counted per van, a review request after every job, and an app that keeps working offline. It starts at $49, month to month, with 14 days free and no card.
Mobile Service Sync and Shopmonkey, side by side, on Mobile Service Sync's own site.
Questions About Shopmonkey
- Can Shopmonkey run a mobile oil change business?
- It can run the paperwork, but not the route. Shopmonkey has a tech app and unlimited texting on Basic at $239, yet it names no routing, documents no offline mode, and its online booking is a $349 add-on with no service area rule.
- How much is Shopmonkey?
- Basic is $239 a month with 3 users, Clever $399 with 4 and Genius $499 with 5, lower when billed annually, plus $20 a month per extra user and a one-time $500 migration fee. CRM Essentials, which carries online booking, is $349 a month.